Elaboration

Harvesting for Crémants : hand picking when fully ripeAt Rully, and throughout Burgundy, harvesting for Crémants opens the harvest period. Crémant de Bourgogne, because of its specificity, is always harvested before still wines. In fact, harvesting must be done at full ripeness, i.e. when a perfect balance is obtained between fruit and freshness.We take care to preserve this balance at each stage of production.The choice of date is of primary importance, as all the finesse of Crémants de Bourgogne Vitteaut-Alberti will depend on this.It has always been a tradition at Vitteaut-Alberti, and has become the rule for Crémant de Bourgogne, that grapes are hand-picked.Manually harvested in perforated boxes, grapes destined for Crémants and Vins Mousseux are carefully handled : crushing and maceration of berries is avoided, and thus, oxidation of musts.The making of Crémant de Bourgogne is under way : the grapes are brought whole to the press by a conveyor belt, so as to avoid squashing them, and pressed within an hour of picking.Pneumatic presses ensure a progressive pressing, by stages. These technical requirements guarantee the quality of the Crémants Vitteaut-Alberti.The appellation Crémant de Bourgogne is granted to a cuvée obtained within the limits of 150 kilos of grape harvest per 100 litres of wine.
Fermentation of Crémants de Bourgogne : from must to base wine.The vinification and ageing of Crémants de Bourgogne Vitteaut-Alberti take place in Rully, south of Beaune. Fermentation occurs in two phases :In the first phase, alcoholic fermentation transforms the musts into base wine which, as a function of the different Burgundy grape varieties chosen - Chardonnay, Pinot Noir or Aligoté, will be used to make Crémant de Bourgogne or Vins Mousseux Vitteaut Alberti.The optimal development of aromas for Chardonnay, Pinot Noir and Aligoté requires rigour and regular control of this phase of production of Crémant de Bourgogne which occurs in thermo-regulated, stainless steel vats.Following a period of rest for the future Crémant, a second fermentation called malolactic takes place naturally. It allows the wine to become more supple and to stabilize.Next, the base wines are aged on their lees in stainless vats for the whole winter and until the blending of the cuvées. This ageing allows the wine to acquire all its character.
The characteristic "house” taste of cuvées Vitteaut-Alberti : the Art of Blending.Crémant de Bourgogne is a blended wine. It is this phase in making Crémant, called assemblage, that allows finesse, richness and complexity in the cuvées to be obtained and to create the "house taste” or ”goût maison” that makes the reputation of the Crémants Vitteaut-Alberti, in Burgundy and around the world.After tasting, each base wine is designated to its cuvée of Crémant. The different proportions of grape varieties in the base wine, together with the origin of the grapes, offer a palette of aromas essential to the character of Crémant Vitteaut Alberti.The Maison Vitteaut-Alberti may also blend in wine called «vin de réserve », produced in previous years. The cuvée must then be subjected to tasting for the official agreement authorization, as imposed by the AOC Crémant de Bourgogne.To guarantee the quality of Crémants de Bourgogne, base wines destined for Crémants are subjected to an official agrément before bottling.
Méthode traditionnelle : birth of the bubbles and ageing of CrémantThe birth of Crémant bubbles happens in the bottle: this is called the "méthode traditionnelle".The success of this phase of production is critical for the finesse of the bubbles, the respect of terroir and the structure of the Crémant.At the bottling of future Crémants (the first takes place in the February following the harvest), liqueur de tirage (sugar and base wine) is added to the base wine, as well as yeasts that set off a fermentation. Internal bottle pressure reaches approximately 6 bars.Fitted with a metal top, the bottles of Crémant Vitteaut-Alberti rest on laths "sur lattes” in cellar at 15°C, shaded from light and for a minimum period of 12 months. The wine, in contact with the lees - a deposit resulting from fermentation - develops all its aromas and acquires the typicity of Crémant de Bourgogne.After this period of ageing, a traditional stage typical of the creation of Crémant takes place : riddling and disgorgement.
Riddling and disgorgement: brilliance and final taste of CrémantRiddling and disgorgement of Crémant are intimately linked. After a period of ageing - from 12 to 18 months depending on specific cuvées - bottles are riddled to bring the deposit due to fermentation into the neck of the bottle. This action, the so-called riddling or remuage, precedes an essential stage in the making of Crémant de Bourgogne : the disgorgement.Flash frozen, the deposit is ejected: this disgorgement leaves the wine clear and brilliant. This phase of riddling and disgorgement bring all its distinction and elegance to Crémant de Bourgogne Vitteaut-Alberti.Before inserting the final cork that completes the process of making Crémant de Bourgogne Vitteaut-Alberti, a little pre-finishing liqueur d'expédition is added, to adjust the final taste of the Crémant: concentrated grape must, dosed from dry brut to sweet doux.The cork for Crémants Vitteaut-Alberti must bear mention of the appellation « Crémant de Bourgogne ».
Finishing, called habillage, and packing of Crémant de BourgogneAfter the stage of riddling and disgorgement, Crémant de Bourgogne Vitteaut-Alberti is submitted to a second official agrément recognition, before commercialisation.With its aluminium foil neck, a label bearing mention of the appellation Crémant de Bourgogne and a back label, Crémant Vitteaut-Alberti can be put on sale after a minimum ageing of 12 months. These Crémants de Bourgogne are recognizable by their label "Crémant de Bourgogne L. Vitteaut-Alberti" or "Crémant L.V-A", from the name of Lucien Vitteaut-Alberti, founder of the Maison Vitteaut-Alberti in 1951. Crémants de Bourgogne Vitteaut-Alberti keep their freshness for 4 years after disgorgement, before ageing thereafter and becoming Crémants de Bourgogne that are stronger and more full-bodied.

Pour accéder à la version Flash du site, vous devez télécharger Flash Player en cliquant sur l'image suivante :

Elaboration

Récolte des Crémants : vendanges manuelles à bonne maturitéÀ Rully, et dans toute la Bourgogne, la récolte des Crémants ouvre la période des vendanges. Le Crémant de Bourgogne du fait de sa particularité, est toujours vendangé avant les vins tranquilles. En effet, la vendange doit se faire à bonne maturité c'est à dire lorsque l'on obtient un équilibre parfait entre fruité et fraîcheur.Nous nous appliquons à préserver cet équilibre à chaque étape de l'élaboration.Le choix de la date est primordial, il en découlera toute la finesse des Crémants de Bourgogne Vitteaut-Alberti.C'est depuis toujours une tradition chez Vitteaut-Alberti, et c'est devenu la règle pour le Crémant de Bourgogne, les vendanges sont manuelles.Vendangés à la main en caisses percées, les raisins destinés aux crémants et vins mousseux sont manipulés avec soin : on évite l'éclatement et la macération des baies, et ainsi, l'oxydation des moûts.La fabrication du Crémant de Bourgogne est en marche : les raisins sont acheminés entiers au pressoir, par un tapis afin de ne pas triturer le raisin, et pressés dans l'heure suivant la cueillette.Des pressoirs pneumatiques assurent un pressurage progressif, par paliers. Ces exigences techniques garantissent la qualité des Crémants Vitteaut-Alberti.L'appellation Crémant de Bourgogne est accordée à la cuvée obtenue dans la limite de 150 kilos de vendange pour 100 litres de vin.
Fermentations des Crémants de Bourgogne : du moût au vin de baseLa vinification et l'élevage des Crémants de Bourgogne Vitteaut-Alberti ont lieu à Rully, au sud de Beaune. La fermentation s'opère en deux temps ;Dans un premier temps, la fermentation alcoolique transforme les moûts en vin de base, qui en fonction des différents cépages de Bourgogne choisis, Chardonay, Pinot Noir ou Aligoté, serviront à l'élaboration du Crémant de Bourgogne ou des Vins Mousseux Vitteaut Ablerti.Le développement optimal des arômes du Chardonnay, du Pinot Noir et de l'Aligoté demande une rigueur et un contrôle régulier de cette phase d'élaboration du Crémant de Bourgogne qui se déroule en cuves inox thermorégulées.Après un temps de repos du futur Crémant, une seconde fermentation dite malolactique s'opère naturellement. elle permet d'assouplir et de stabiliser le vin.Puis les vins de base sont élevés sur lie en cuve inox durant tout l'hiver jusqu'à l'assemblage des cuvées. Cet élevage permet au vin d'acquérir tout son caractère.
Le goût « maison » des cuvées Vitteaut-Alberti : l'Art de l'assemblage.Le Crémant de Bourgogne est un vin d'assemblage. C'est cette phase d'élaboration du crémant qui permet d'obtenir finesse, richesse et complexité des cuvées et de créer le « goût maison » qui fait la renommée des Crémants Vitteaut-Alberti, en Bourgogne et à travers le monde.Après dégustation, chaque vin de base est destiné à une cuvée de Crémant. La diversité des proportions des cépages, à laquelle s'ajoute leur provenance, offre une palette d'arômes essentielle au caractère du Crémant Vitteaut Alberti.La Maison Vitteaut-Alberti peut également assembler un vin dit de réserve, vinifié les années précédentes.La cuvée doit ensuite passer une dégustation d'agrément, imposée par le décret d'AOC Crémant de Bourgogne.Pour garantir la qualité des Crémants de Bourgogne, les vins de base destinés aux Crémants sont soumis à un agrément avant mise en bouteille.
Méthode traditionnelle : naissance des bulles et élevage du CrémantLa naissance des bulles de Crémant a lieu en bouteille : c'est la "méthode traditionnelle".La réussite de cette phase d'élaboration est déterminante pour la finesse des bulles, le respect du terroir et la structure du crémant.Lors de la mise en bouteilles des futurs Crémants (la première a lieu en février suivant la récolte), on ajoute au vin de base la liqueur de tirage (sucre et vin de base), et des levures, qui provoquent une fermentation. On obtient environ 6 bars de pression.Capsulées, les bouteilles de Crémant Vitteaut-Alberti reposent « sur lattes », en cave à 15°C, à l'abri de la lumière, pendant un délai minimum de 12 mois. Le vin, en contact avec les lies - dépôt faisant suite à la fermentation -, développe tous ses arômes et acquiert la typicité du Crémant de Bourgogne.Après ce temps d'élevage, une étape traditionnelle typique de l'élaboration du Crémant pourra être mise en place : le remuage et le dégorgement.
Remuage et dégorgement : brillance et goût final du crémantRemuage et dégorgement du crémant sont intimement liés. Après un temps d'élevage du crémant - de 12 à 18 mois en fonction des cuvées -, les bouteilles sont remuées afin d'amener le dépôt dû à la fermentation dans le goulot. Cette action, dite de remuage, précède une phase essentielle dans l'élaboration du crémant de Bourgogne : le dégorgement.Congelé, le dépôt est éjecté : le dégorgement rend le vin clair et brillant. Cette phase de remuage et de dégorgement apporte au Crémant de Bourgogne Vitteaut-Alberti toute sa distinction et son élégance.Avant la pose du bouchon définitif qui clôt l'élaboration du crémant de Bourgogne Vitteaut-Alberti, on ajoute la liqueur d'expédition afin d'ajuster le goût final du Crémant : du moût de raisin concentré, dosé de brut à doux.Le bouchon des Crémants Vitteaut-Alberti doit porter la mention de l'appellation « Crémant de Bourgogne ».
Habillage et conditionnement du Crémant de BourgogneAprès l'étape de remuage et de dégorgement, le Crémant de Bourgogne Vitteaut-Alberti est soumis à un deuxième agrément, avant commercialisation.Revêtu d'une coiffe, d'une étiquette portant mention de l'appellation Crémant de Bourgogne, et d'une contre-étiquette, le Crémant Vitteaut-Alberti peut être mis en vente après 12 mois d'élevage minimum. Ces Crémants de Bourgogne sont reconnaissables par leur étiquette "Crémant de Bourgogne L. Vitteaut-Alberti" ou "Crémant L.V-A", du nom de Lucien Vitteaut-Alberti, fondateur de la Maison Vitteaut-Alberti en 1951. Les Crémants de Bourgogne Vitteaut-Alberti gardent leur fraîcheur pendant 4 ans après le dégorgement, pour ensuite vieillir et devenir des Crémants de Bourgogne plus vineux et plus corsés.

Pour accéder à la version Flash du site, vous devez télécharger Flash Player en cliquant sur l'image suivante :